Departure.

Kevin is a seasoned traveler. I’m unseasoned…. Bland…. So when he asked me to join him while he finished the remaining six months of his year-long adventure I immediately said yes… And then said no… And then said yes… And then said no…… You get the idea. This was a HUGE decision.

For those of you that don’t know Kevin, he’s been a place or two. Or fifty. He’s been planning for the last several years to travel extensively and his dream became a reality on December 28, 2012 when he set off for a year to travel Central and South America. After agreeing before he left to continue dating long-distance, I never anticipated I’d be invited to come along…. As it turns out, Kevin wants a partner in crime on this adventure of a lifetime.

In March I was admitted to the hospital for what I thought was a simple case of appendicitis. A biopsy was performed and the results showed a cancerous tumor. A tumor that had possibly spread to my colon. My case was taken to the tumor board at Florida Hospital and it was determined that I should have a right hemi-colectomy to remove 1/3 of my colon. I was presented with their determination and the surgery took place on April 23. I think it was shortly after arriving home from my four days in the hospital I made the final decision to quit my job, postpone school, and check out all this world has to offer. Life is definitely too short and too uncertain to not experience this kind of opportunity.

I have traveled, but never outside of the United States. I’ve visited Detroit, Washington D.C., St. Louis, San Luis Obispo, New York City… All amazing cities, but nothing quite like the places we’ll visit over the course of the next six months. As our flight departs from Orlando and arrives in Bogota Colombia on August 13 I’m certain what I’ll be feeling is uncertain. I’m venturing into this with eyes wide open and with zero expectations because when nothing is sure, everything is possible.

Please join in with us as we take flight. Embark with us as we see the beauties of new people and new places. Take part in our endeavors as I’m hopeful and confident they’ll be inspiring, educational, entertaining and mostly fun for all. For now, until next time, we say ADIOS!

-Ash

20130813-122134.jpg

Leave a Reply

